Kyoto Prefecture

The Kyoto Prefecture (京都府) lies in the Kansai Region. Its capital, Kyoto City, used to be the capital of Japan for over 1,000 years. Nowadays, it is also called the cultural capital of Japan.

The Prefecture of Kyoto has 6 districts and 26 municipalities, accounting for a population of close to 2,6 million. Most of the prefecture is known for its capital city, Kyoto, but it also has a great landmass to the north of it, continuing up to the Sea of Japan. Its neighboring prefectures are Fukui, Shiga, Mie, Nara, Osaka, and Hyogo.

Outside of Kyoto City, the prefecture has other beautiful locations to offer. The most famous is perhaps

Amanohashidate, which is known as one of the Three Views of Japan.